altPicture1649668827

58

Win­ter is such ran­dom this year. Yes­ter­day, as I left the office, the air smelled like spring, veiled like a pre­cious in a fog shawl. I was attract­ed by the sweet con­trast of Jar­ry Park. For a while I observed young lovers dis­turb­ing the rel­a­tive quiet­ness of the place. Saint-Lau­rent Boule­vard was no calmer than usu­al, but the trees, oh, seemed to be drink­ing from the promis­ing humidity.

My day had been very busy, I could pre­tend I did­n’t see it pass. That would be lying. My days, I see them begin, end and between one task and the oth­er, I observe myself breath­ing, dwelling, think­ing. I dream, it seems to me, a lot, I often get up dur­ing the night to uri­nate or have a glass of water, liv­ing by proxy a way of anx­i­ety or some kind of fog.

That day, on the eve of my fifty-eighth birth­day, I soaked myself in the calm Van Gogh’s calm of a pud­dle of water. These are pre­cious moments, almost intangible.

Today, I was treat­ed to kind­ness, both at the office and from my close and dis­tant friends. In Brazil­ian, and I believe in oth­er lan­guages, con­grat­u­la­tions are expressed, as if aging were a feat. I don’t think I have more courage than usu­al. Liv­ing is good for yourself.

It was still an ordi­nary day, as it should have been. The wind had risen dur­ing the night. This morn­ing, win­ter had returned to its right­ful place, pow­dery and sun­ny. Noth­ing new, then, on the round Earth. Yes­ter­day’s fog haunts me. I am motion­less and thirsty for col­ors and sensations.

I get old, I get fru­gal. That’s enough for me. New happiness.

altPicture937884889

#494b48
#7e9091

58

L’hiver est d’un aléatoire. Hier, au sortir du bureau, l’air sentait le printemps, voilé comme une précieuse dans un châle de brouillard. Je fus attiré par le contraste doucereux du parc Jarry. J’ai observé pendant un temps de jeunes amoureux qui dérangeaient la quiétude toute relative de l’endroit. Le boulevard Saint-Laurent n’était en effet pas plus calme que d’habitude, mais les arbres, eux, oh, semblaient s’abreuvoir à l’humidité prometteuse.

Ma journée avait été fort occupée, je pourrais prétendre que je ne l’ai pas vue passer. Ce serait mentir. Mes jours, je les vois commencer, finir et entre une tâche et l’autre, je m’observe respirer, m’appesantir, penser. Je rêve, il me semble, beaucoup, je me lève souvent durant la nuit pour uriner, ou prendre un verre d’eau, vivant par procuration une manière d’angoisse ou de je ne sais quel brouillard.

Ce jour-là, à l’orée de mon cinquante-huitième anniversaire, je me suis imprégné du calme Van Gogh d’une flaque d’eau. Ce sont des moments précieux, presque intangibles.

Aujourd’hui, j’ai eu droit  à des gentillesses, tant au bureau que de la part de mes amis proches et lointains. En brésilien, et je crois dans d’autres langues, on dit félicitations, comme si vieillir relevait de l’exploit. Je ne pense pas avoir plus de courage que d’habitude. Vivre, ça se fait bien tout seul.

Ce fut tout de même une journée ordinaire, comme il se doit. Le vent s’était levé durant la nuit. Ce matin, l’hiver avait repris ses droits, poudreux et ensoleillé. Rien de neuf, donc, sur la terre ronde. Le brouillard d’hier me hante. Je suis immobile et assoiffé de couleurs et de sensations.

Je vieillis, je deviens frugal. Cela me suffit. Nouveau bonheur.

h h h
<<Le bonheur en moi
2017/03/18
Je me souviens>>
2017/02/12
#494b48
#7e9091