Falaise, phase 3 | Guy Verville
A note to my English readers
The texts on this site are originally written in French. The English version is produced with the help of Deepl.com and Grammarly.
picture for falaise--phase-3

Falaise, phase 3

Modifié le : 2019/07/18

I spent the whole week revising the novel. This text is like croissant dough. It is stretched, flattened, added butter, folded. Everything becomes uniform and, in the end, we hope that it will swell, will be appetizing.

My editor’s corrections were so rigorous that there were severe cuts here and there. I accepted all the corrections noted in the word processing software before starting the last reading myself, trying to ignore what I knew about the text. Thus, without any reference points, without any mark of comments or corrections, I was able to see what had become natural, flowing and what, sometimes, was no longer so.

The eyes and gestures of an external corrector can be both effective and inappropriate. In some places, I noticed right away that part of my breath had been taken away. I went back to the original manuscript, understood, reflected, decided if I accepted or refused.

This work was painful, not for my own self-esteem, but because I am beginning to have trouble appreciating what I have written. The delivery of this text was difficult; I have the impression that I have been giving birth by cesarean section for two years. I no longer have the eyes, the patience to love this text. I see all my faults, my weaknesses and also my qualities.

Everyone will tell me that this is normal. I know that too. I finally dropped off my pencil. At the very least, for this text. If all goes well, the next time I have to approve it, it will be in the form of a book ready to be sent to the printer. Inchallah as an Algerian friend says. To the grace of all the gods.

And meanwhile, autumn calms me down.

h h h

Post Comment

© 2019 Guy Verville. All rights reserved.
Made with ProcessWire 3.0.137 Open Source CMS/CMF © Ryan Cramer Design, LLC
#730f19
#a7e76f

Billets récents

Falaise, phase 3

J’ai passé la semaine à réviser le roman. Ce texte, c’est comme de la pâte à croissant. On l’étire, l’aplatit, ajoute du beurre, le replie. Tout s’uniformise et, au final, on espère qu’il gonflera, sera appétissant.

Les corrections de mon éditrice ont été rigoureuses au point d’y aller, çà et là, de coupes sévères. J’ai tout accepté les corrections notées dans le logiciel de traitement de texte avant d’entreprendre moi-même cette dernière lecture, en essayant de faire abstraction de ce que je connaissais du texte. Ainsi, sans aucun repère, sans aucune marque de commentaires ou de corrections, j’ai pu voir ce qui était devenu naturel, coulant et ce qui, parfois, ne l’était plus.

Le regard et les gestes d’un correcteur externe peuvent être à la fois efficaces et inappropriés. À certains endroits, j’ai noté tout de suite qu’on avait enlevé une partie de mon souffle. Je suis retourné voir le manuscrit original, ai compris, réfléchi, décidé si j’acceptais ou refusais.

Ce travail fut pénible, non pas pour mon amour propre, mais parce que je commence à avoir du mal à apprécier ce que j’ai écrit. L’accouchement de ce texte fut difficile; j’ai l’impression d’accoucher par césarienne depuis deux ans. Je n’ai plus les yeux, la patience pour aimer ce texte. J’y vois tous mes défauts, mes faiblesses et aussi mes qualités.

Tout le monde me dira que c’est normal. Je le sais moi aussi pertinemment. J’ai enfin déposé mon crayon. À tout le moins, pour ce texte. Si tout va bien, la prochaine fois que j’aurai à l’approuver, ce sera sous forme de livre prêt à être envoyé chez l’imprimeur. Inchallah comme le dit un ami algérien. À la grâce de tous les dieux.

Et pendant ce temps, l’automne m’apaise.

h h h
<<Sex-shop
2014/11/16
#730f19
#a7e76f