altPicture854213809

Photo source: Representation of Pikaia gracilens © Royal Ontario Museum/Phlesch Bubble, shamefully copied from Radio-Canada.

Pikaia

Modifié le : 2019/08/06

Last night, I went back to review Les Mailles sanguines. I wrote to this reader’s committee at the publishing house, which, without closing the door completely, did not open it much. I wanted to tell them that I’m not discouraged. But it’s no use. This job belongs to me.

I am asked to rework the text, especially to remove clumsiness and outgrowths (sic). I am willing to do so even if I would have liked to be suggested where I could make the cuts. That is not to say, already, after reading the first paragraph, I felt the usual uneasiness of boredom and déjà vu. It takes courage to put back on the table, even on the butcher’s stall, the words that we had, at first sight, thought so well ordered. Courage because you have to crush what little pride you had and, on this side, anyway, I am a master.

The weather is fine outside. I don’t really walk around in the morning anymore. I’ve been drained lately, and I’ve been consuming as much sleep as I can. And then the work that does not stop. I’m moving forward. That’s a win-win situation.

My model is the Pikaia which, after eating all its mud, gave a long offspring, one of which, after many mutations and procrastination, types these lines. The dance of evolution is fascinating, the genesis of all these scattered beings so vertiginous, and I gladly conceal the billions of billions of stars around which pregnant planets revolve.

I eat my mud and am very comfortable with it. I return to my words and sculpt my modest castle in the sand of a friable universe.

altPicture1797208722
Right
#1a3958
#1a3958

Billets récents

Source de la photo : Représentation du Pikaia gracilens © Musée Royal de l'Ontario/Phlesch Bubble, honteusement copiée de Radio-Canada.

Pikaia

Hier soir, je me suis remis à la révision des Mailles sanguines. Je voulais écrire à ce comité de lecteur de la maison d’édition qui, sans fermer tout à fait la porte, ne l’a pas ouverte beaucoup. Je voulais leur dire que je ne me décourage pas. Mais ça ne sert à rien. Ce travail m’appartient.

On me demande de retravailler le texte, surtout pour en enlever les maladresses et les excroissances (sic). Je suis prêt à le faire même si j’aurais aimé que me l’on suggère les endroits où faire les coupes. Qu’à cela ne tienne, déjà, à la lecture du premier paragraphe, j’ai senti le malaise habituel de l’ennui et du déjà vu. Cela prend un certain courage de remettre sur la table, voire sur l’étal de la boucherie, les mots que l’on avait, à prime abord, pensé si bien ordonnés. Du courage parce qu’il faut écraser le peu de fierté que l’on avait et, de ce côté, de toute manière, je suis passé maître.

Il fait beau, dehors. Je ne me promène plus vraiment, le matin. J’ai été très fatigué ces temps-ci et j’ai consommé le plus de sommeil possible. Et puis l’ouvrage qui n’arrête pas. J’avance. C’est déjà ça de gagné.

J’ai pour modèle le Pikaia qui, après avoir mangé toute sa boue, a donné une longue progéniture dont l’une d’elle, après moult mutations et tergiversations, tape ces lignes. La danse de l’évolution est fascinante, la genèse de tous ces êtres épars si vertigineuse, et j’occulte bien volontiers les milliards de milliards d’étoiles autour desquelles tournent des planètes gravides.

Je mange ma boue et en suis fort aise. Je reviens à mes mots et je sculpte mon modeste château dans le sable d’un univers friable.

h h h
<<Retrouver ses mots
2012/03/07
Les regards>>
2012/03/05
#1a3958
#1a3958