Slow motion | Guy Verville
A note to my English readers
The texts on this site are originally written in French. The English version is produced with the help of Deepl.com and Grammarly.
picture for slow-motion

Slow motion

Modifié le : 2019/08/06

The weather is unusually mild in Montreal. All in all, winter has no hold on the city’s oily asphalt, which nevertheless continues to run its course.

My own days are in a hurry; the customers all want everything for yesterday, and they try to bury as much as possible the next day before it is born. Already an early morning wake-up call, because I had to go to the CLSC for my annual blood test. Back home, and a day to put out the multiple fires initiated by my clients. I am privileged not to have to look for work, it comes to me effortlessly. I like my job. In some circles, they call me The Machine because I know how to produce quickly and efficiently.

There is certainly a physical and mental blow to this sometimes frantic production. And yesterday, I had to take proper breaths to calm both my nerves and my heart. Since it was Wednesday-pizza (a small communal tradition at home ), I went to get some wine at the end of the day. The streets at rush hour are lively, too much maybe. Few people smile, they also have been in a hurry like lemons and what they have left of their energy will be used to drive them home wisely, where they will probably fall asleep very quickly on their couch. Oh! Life certainly doesn’t end at 9 to 5. Many of them will have their 5 to 7, their little hour of enjoyment, their great happiness in the theatre, the cinema or in their bed. Life goes on, and it sometimes seems so fast, so angry.

Since the SAQ branch is far enough to take the metro when I’m in a hurry but close enough to walk, I opted, given the mild weather, for walking.

I took my time, slowed down the pressure, listened to my life crossing the street, watched a man with an intoxicating beard to my eyes, a woman with visible fatigue  dragging two recalcitrant paws, another man, old, with legs so bewildering that one imagined him falling there, like a branch in freezing rain. Different routes, different speeds.

When I returned, I contemplated the evolution of the construction of these new condos, which will soon suffocate the church that remained in the center of the complex. The workers were already gone. I saw a beautiful light there. Click, click with my camera.

It was raining a little. I hastened to walk because you have to be careful of quiet water.

The pizza was good with my friends on the ground floor. They were tired, already falling asleep on the couch. I went back up, got a little angry, because I was still being asked to hurry for something, worked again since my workload has become a big forest that I have to cut down. Guy The Machine. A friend told me to go to bed because I was getting stupid.

What I did. In short, the slowness escapes me. Let us give thanks to the relentless sleep that rarely accepts to be disturbed in its schedule.

h h h

Post Comment

© 2019 Guy Verville. All rights reserved.
Made with ProcessWire 3.0.137 Open Source CMS/CMF © Ryan Cramer Design, LLC
#1a3958
#1a3958

Billets récents

Slow motion

Le temps est particulièrement doux à Montréal. L’hiver, tout compte fait, n’a pas de prises sur le bitume huileux de la métropole qui n’en poursuit pas moins sa course.

Mes propres jours sont pressés ; les clients veulent tous tout pour hier et ils cherchent à enterrer le plus possible le lendemain avant qu’il ne naisse. Déjà un réveil tôt le matin, car je devais me rendre au CSLC pour mon annuelle prise de sang. Retour chez moi, et journée à éteindre les multiples feux initiés par mes clients. Je suis privilégié de ne pas avoir à me chercher du travail, celui-ci arrive vers moi sans effort. J’aime mon métier. Dans certains milieux, on m’appelle The Machine, car je sais produire prestement et efficacement.

Il y a certes un coup physique et mental à cette production parfois effrénée. Et hier, il m’a fallu prendre de bonnes respirations pour calmer tant mes nerfs que mon cœur. Puisque c’était mercredi-pizza (un petite tradition communale à la maison ), je suis allé chercher du vin en fin de journée. Les rues à l’heure de pointe sont vives, trop peut-être. Peu de gens sourient, ils ont été eux aussi pressés comme des citrons et ce qu’il leur reste d’énergie leur servira à les conduire sagement à la maison où ils s’endormiront vraisemblablement très vite dans leur canapé. Oh! la vie ne s’arrête certes pas au 9 à 5. Plusieurs d’entre eux auront leur 5 à 7, leur petite heure de jouissance, leur grand bonheur au théâtre, au cinéma ou dans leur lit. La vie continue, et elle semble parfois si rapide, si énervée.

Comme la succursale de la SAQ est suffisamment loin pour prendre le métro lorsque je suis pressé, mais assez proche tout de même pour faire le trajet à pied, j’ai opté, vu la douce température, pour la marche.

J’ai pris mon temps, ralenti la pression, écouté mon existence traverser la rue, observer tel homme à la barbe enivrante pour mes yeux, telle femme à la fatigue évidente aux bras qui traînaient deux marmots récalcitrants, tel autre homme, vieux, aux jambes si chambranlantes qu’on l’imaginait tomber là, comme une branche au verglas. Différents parcours, différentes vitesses.

À mon retour, je contemplai l’évolution de la construction de ces nouveaux condos qui étoufferont bientôt l’église demeurée au centre du complexe. Les ouvriers n’étaient déjà plus là. J’y ai vu une belle lumière. Clic, clic avec mon appareil photo.

Il pleuvait un peu. J’ai pressé le pas, car il faut se méfier de l’eau tranquille.

Bonne pizza avec mes amis du rez-de-chaussée qui s’endormaient déjà dans le canapé. Je suis remonté, me suis énervé un peu, çar on me demandait encore de me presser pour un truc, ai travaillé encore puisque ma charge de travail est devenue une grande forêt qu’il me faut abattre. Guy The Machine. Un ami m’a dit d’aller me coucher, car je devenais bête.

Ce que je fis. Bref, la lenteur m’échappe. Rendons grâce au sommeil implacable qui, lui, n’accepte que rarement d’être dérangé dans son horaire.

h h h
<<Nous, les exilés
2012/02/18
Les compagnons>>
2012/02/14
#1a3958
#1a3958