Srinivasa Ramanujan | Guy Verville
A note to my English readers
The texts on this site are originally written in French. The English version is produced with the help of Deepl.com and Grammarly.

Srinivasa Ramanujan

Since I had no one to celebrate with, yesterday, I had a Netflix episode and a rather bad movie. The latter, however, tells a fascinating story.

Regularly, I come into contact with the mathematical universe, as if this universe were a secret garden never visited, too chicken that I was to explore the complex paths. The film in question, The Man Who Knew Infinity, tells the story of the British mathematician Srinivasa Ramanujan’s adventure. The film is bad, because it is really too sweet, seems to start in the middle of the story and we perceive very little of the infinity that the title announces. Moreover, the scenario is strangely similar to Wikipedia’s article on the guy.

In any case, the phenomenon of Ramanujan deserves attention. His short time on Earth was rarely recognized, because at the beginning of the 20th century, Indians, still under British rule, were considered second-class people. Ramanujan’s story could be summed up as follows: inspired, mathematical equations came to him almost in a dream. He was certainly a seasoned mathematician, yet without much general training since he focused only on mathematics, leaving other subjects behind, which invariably led him to academic failure.

Deeply religious, he could undoubtedly be considered an enlightened person at the time. Although there are a few legends around him, Ramanujan did not seem to appreciate the evidence in mathematics too much. For him, his discoveries were self-evident and it took the patience and rigor of his British mentor, G.H. Hardy, to get the prodigy’s genius recognized and channeled. Hardy would say that his most important contribution to mathematics was the discovery of Ramanujan.

This young Indian man had a profound impact on the world of mathematics of his time. He left four important notebooks of formulas that are often yet to be proven and that inspire other mathematicians. Some of these formulas, in the last notebook, have helped to advance the science of black holes.

That is all to say about this short and brilliant light. He died at the age of 32, not from tuberculosis, as the film suggests, but from liver disease, which was widespread in his native Madras.

That’s the way life is. We like to admire these shooting stars with such a short existence and we would like to possess even the crumbs of this passion that devours them. For my part, I regret not having the time or concentration to understand the infinite as Ramanujan seemed to know how to do.

There is so much to discover… As Hardy said (in the film, anyway), mathematicians exist to reveal the beauty of the world, a splendour that escapes them, created by who knows, and where, and by what. The tragedy is great when someone has only time to open this opaque veil of nothingness before it melts back to it without any other noise.

h h h

Post Comment

© 2019 Guy Verville. All rights reserved.
Made with ProcessWire 3.0.145 Open Source CMS/CMF © Ryan Cramer Design, LLC
#463c3d
#988d8b

Billets récents

Srinivasa Ramanujan

Puisque je n’avais personne avec qui célébrer, hier, je me suis tapé en rafale un épisode Netflix et un film plutôt mauvais. Ce dernier, pourtant, raconte une histoire fascinante.

Régulièrement, j’entre en contact avec l’univers mathématique, comme si cet univers était un jardin secret jamais visité, trop froussard que je fus pour en explorer les complexes sentiers. Le film en question, The Man Who Knew Infinity, relate l’aventure britannique du mathématicien Srinivasa Ramanujan. Le film est mauvais, car il est vraiment trop sucré, semble débuter en plein milieu de l’histoire et on perçoit très peu de cette infinité que le titre annonce. De plus, le scénario ressemble étrangement à l’article de Wikipédia sur l’homme.

Quoi qu’il en soit, le phénomène qu’est Ramanujan mérite qu’on s’y attarde. Son court passage sur Terre a failli ne jamais être reconnu, car au début du XXe siècle, les Indiens, toujours sous la férule britannique, étaient considérés comme des gens de second ordre. L’histoire de Ramanujan pourrait se résumer ainsi : inspiré, des équations mathématiques lui venaient presque en rêve. Il était certes un mathématicien aguerri, pourtant sans grande formation générale puisqu’il ne se concentrait que sur les mathématiques, délaissant les autres matières, ce qui lui conduisait invariablement à l’échec scolaire.

Profondément religieux, on pouvait sans doute le considérer à l’époque comme un illuminé. Bien qu’il y ait un peu de légendes autour de lui, Ramanujan ne semblait pas trop apprécier les preuves en mathématiques. Pour lui, ses découvertes allaient de soi et il fallut la patience et la rigueur de son mentor britannique, G.H. Hardy pour faire reconnaître et canaliser le génie du prodige. Hardy dira d’ailleurs que sa plus importante contribution aux mathématiques fut la découverte de Ramanujan.

Ce jeune Indien a profondément marqué l’univers des mathématiques de son temps. Il a laissé quatre importants carnets de formules qui sont encore souvent à prouver et qui inspirent d’autres mathématiciens. Certaines de ces formules, dans le dernier carnet, ont contribué à faire avancer la science des trous noirs.

C’est tout dire de cette courte et brillante lumière. Il est mort à 32 ans, non pas de tuberculose, comme le laisse croire le film, mais d’une maladie du foie, largement répandue dans son lieu d’origine, le Madras.

Ainsi va la vie. On se plaît à admirer ces étoiles filantes à l’existence si courte et on souhaiterait posséder ne serait-ce que les miettes de cette passion qui les dévore. Pour ma part, je regrette de ne pas posséder ni le temps ni la concentration pour comprendre l’infini comme semblait savoir le faire Ramanujan. 

Il y a tellement à découvrir… Comme le disait Hardy (dans le film, en tout cas), les mathématiciens existent pour révéler la beauté du monde, une splendeur qui leur échappe, créée d’on ne sait où, par quoi, par qui, et la tragédie est grande quand quelqu’un n’a le temps que d’entrouvrir ce voile opaque du néant avant qu’il ne se fonde de nouveau à lui sans tambour ni trompette

h h h
#463c3d
#988d8b