altPicture1052567194

Ullasa

When I leave the house, my eyes always turn to the south, which from my bal­cony seems to me to be the north. In spring, the light wel­comes me. The long morn­ing shad­ows seem both frozen and serene, one would not know what to think.

In real­i­ty, there is no rea­son to think. Mind­ful­ness thinkers like to use the word ullasa, which they trans­late as a con­tent­ment of beau­ty. Accord­ing to a San­skrit dic­tio­nary, this would prob­a­bly sim­ply mean light.

We like to inflate the mean­ing of words among hap­pi­ness enthu­si­asts. How­ev­er, I agree with the joy that light gives me in the morn­ing. It seems to me to be part of a sin­gle cer­tain­ty, almost a dogma.

The evening light is the same, like an iden­ti­cal reverse side of a medal with kalei­do­scop­ic edges. I will nev­er under­stand exis­tence, I will nev­er see its end because at the end I will prob­a­bly already be blind.

So I have morn­ings and evenings left to remind myself of the impor­tance of being who I am.

altPicture721763331altPicture1439604312

#1a3958
#1a3958

Ullasa | Guy Verville

Billets récents

picture for Ullasa

Ullasa

Quand je quitte la maison, mon regard se porte toujours vers le sud qui, de mon balcon, m’apparaît être le nord. Au printemps, la lumière m’accueille. Les longues ombres du matin semblent à la fois figées ou sereines, on ne saurait quoi penser.

En réalité, il n’y a pas matière à penser. Les penseurs de la pleine conscience aiment utiliser le mot ullasa qu’ils traduisent par contentement de la beauté. D’après un dictionnaire sanskrit, cela voudrait sans doute simplement dire lumière.

On aime bien, chez les adeptes du bonheur, gonfler le sens des mots. Je suis pourtant d’accord avec la joie que la lumière me procure, le matin. Elle me semble participer d’une unique certitude, presque un dogme.

La lumière du soir est la même, comme un envers identique d’une médaille aux pourtours kaléidoscopiques. Jamais je ne comprendrai l’existence, jamais n’en verrai la fin puisque lors de la fin, je serai probablement déjà aveugle.

Il me reste donc les matins et les soirs pour me rappeler l’importance d’être ce que je suis.

picture for Ullasapicture for Ullasa

Commenter

h h h
#1a3958
#1a3958