altPicture806538669

VLB Éditeur

Modifié le : 2019/07/27

I will undoubt­ed­ly calm down even­tu­al­ly. Yes­ter­day I received the VLB Pub­lish­er con­tract. I was asked to ini­tial all the pages of the agree­ment in blue ink and then sign the last one.

I’ve become too mod­ern. Not a pen at my house. I could have asked the neigh­bor, but I real­ly need­ed to calm down. So I took the sub­way to a down­town sta­tionery store, noth­ing less. Dur­ing the jour­ney, I reworked a chap­ter, hand­writ­ten by Perig in hand, and in the oth­er my iPad Mini.

I took the oppor­tu­ni­ty to do the week­ly gro­cery shop­ping, then went home, still with the man­u­script under my fin­gers. I did­n’t like that pas­sage in chap­ter 33 at all. Too fast in emotions.

After putting the gro­ceries away, I read the rather stan­dard con­tract, ini­tialed, signed, and went down to the ground floor to have Lau­rent signed as a wit­ness. VLB pro­vid­ed the stamped enve­lope for the return of their copy. $1.34 per stamp ? Enough ? I’m too afraid of prob­lems. I go to the post office, not far away and they con­firm that every­thing is in order. The counter clerk takes out her large stamp and shoots it on the enve­lope, which seals the agree­ment. The enve­lope spins in a slot.

I just came from the post office, ner­vous. It’s seri­ous now. A big pub­lish­ing house held me back. Strange­ly enough, I am wor­ried about the next text to be writ­ten, not the one that has not yet been com­plete­ly revised.

At home, unable to work even if cus­tomers are wait­ing. I have a lit­tle headache, I decide to take a bath. I’m almost asleep. My friends are wait­ing for me for din­ner. I am tak­ing with me the bot­tle of sparkling wine that had been in my refrig­er­a­tor since Octo­ber, for­got­ten at the bot­tom of a cup­board for four years.

The intox­i­ca­tion begins. The meal is deli­cious. Con­fit of Que­bec duck which, for once, is not dry and cheap­er than what is sold in gro­cery stores. Good red wine. My head is spin­ning. I end­ed up going home, unable to real­ly go to bed. I’ve had too much to drink. The liv­er is no longer used to emo­tions and bubbles.

In the morn­ing, I had a dream. I was mak­ing $5 mil­lion. I woke up dis­ap­point­ed to find out that it was­n’t. On the bed­side table, my iPad and the man­u­script. I am begin­ning to calm down, I will stop talk­ing about it, I will go back to the bot­tom of the cave, not to hiber­nate, but to find there the dark mat­ter of soli­tude on which to draw the water from my word.

Thank you VLB Pub­lish­er. I’m calm­ing down. I have work to do.

#1a3958
#1a3958

VLB Éditeur

Je vais certes finir par me calmer. J’ai reçu hier le contrat de VLB Éditeur. On me demandait de parapher à l’encre bleue toutes les pages du contrat, puis de signer sur la dernière.

Je suis devenu trop moderne. Pas un stylo chez moi. J’aurais pu demander au voisin, mais il fallait vraiment me calmer. Je suis donc parti en métro vers une papeterie du centre-ville, rien de moins. Pendant le trajet, j’ai retravaillé un chapitre, manuscrit révisé par Perig en main, et dans l’autre mon iPad Mini.

J’en ai profité pour faire l’épicerie de la semaine, puis suis retourné à la maison, toujours le manuscrit sous mes doigts. Ce passage, là, au 33e chapitre, ne me plaisait pas du tout. Trop rapide en émotions.

Après avoir rangé les courses, j’ai lu le contrat, plutôt standard, ai paraphé, signé, suis descendu au rez-de-chaussée faire signer, en tant que témoin, Laurent. VLB fournissait l’enveloppe affranchie pour le renvoi de leur copie. 1,34 $ le timbre ? Suffisant ? J’ai trop peur de problèmes. Je file au bureau de poste, pas loin et on me confirme que tout est en ordre. La préposée au comptoir sort son gros tampon et l’abat sur l’enveloppe, ce qui scelle l’entente. L’enveloppe file dans une fente.

Je sors du bureau de poste, nerveux. C’est du sérieux, maintenant. Une grosse maison d’édition m’a retenu. Curieusement, j’angoisse sur le prochain texte à écrire, pas sur celui qui n’est pas encore entièrement révisé.

À la maison, incapable de travailler même si des clients attendent. J’ai un peu mal à la tête, je décide de prendre un bain. Je m’endors presque. Mes amis m’attendent pour le repas. J’emporte avec moi la bouteille de mousseux, celle qui traînait dans mon réfrigérateur depuis octobre et qui avait été oubliée dans le fond d’une armoire pendant quatre ans.

L’ivresse commence. Le repas est fort bon. Confit de canard québécois qui, pour une fois, n’est pas sec et moins cher que ce qui se vend en épicerie. Bon vin rouge. La tête me tourne. Je finis par retourner chez moi, incapable de me coucher vraiment. J’ai trop bu. Le foie n’est plus habitué aux émotions et aux bulles.

Au matin, j’ai fait un rêve. Je gagnais cinq millions de dollars. Je me suis réveillé, déçu de m’apercevoir qu’il n’en était rien. Sur la table de chevet, mon iPad et le manuscrit. Je commence à me calmer, je vais cesser d’en parler, je vais retourner au fond de la grotte, pour non pas hiberner, mais pour y trouver la matière opaque de la solitude sur laquelle puiser l’eau de ma parole.

Merci VLB Éditeur. Je me calme. J’ai du travail à faire.

h h h
Youkali>>
2013/03/29
#1a3958
#1a3958